R.I.Y.L. MUSIC

Spain – She Haunts My Dreams

Posted in Underrated Albums by Noel on 27 November, 2008

picture-17First off, Spain isn’t from Spain; they are from California. Spain also isn’t quite a band, but more or less just Josh Haden, who is son of jazz legend Charlie Haden.

Spain is most definitely not a jazz band.

But you could be fooled on first listen. It’s slow, intimate delivery could be mistaken for lounge. Until you realise that there’s a restlessness simmering beneath the music: a mix of discontent, desperation and fight that could only be rock.

“Nobody Has To Know” is possibly the most achingly beautiful song about a secret relationship ever written.

R.I.Y.L. Idaho, Red House Painters, Cowboy Junkies

Spain – She Haunts My Dreams

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lounge Lizard said, on 1 December, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Thanks!

    I love the tune Spiritualized (from the debut album)! I streamed some of his solo album. Sounded damn kick-ass but I’m too broke to buy it over Amazon… Sigh.


Leave a comment