R.I.Y.L. MUSIC

Palace of Pleasure – Emperor Norton

Posted in Underrated Albums by Noel on 20 November, 2008

picture-4“Do you like Johan?” I was once asked a Norwegian girl, hoping to break the ice. “Yes, but you should check out Palace of Pleasure,” she replied. “What kind of music is it?” I asked. “Dub,” she said. I thought I’d heard wrong; I didn’t think there were any dub in Norway.

It was dub, or more like dub-electronica, and it was good; in fact, it became a staple at parties whenever friends were over. This was 1998, so the album sounds relatively dated by now (after all, dance doesn’t age so well), but some elements–like the effortless groove mixed with ethereal beats–remain timeless.

R.I.Y.L. Kruder & Dorfmeister, Thievery Corporation, Groove Armada

Palace of Pleasure – Emperor Norton

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robin said, on 23 November, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Did you say “dub”?!! I’m on it!


Leave a comment