R.I.Y.L. MUSIC

Scud Mountain Boys – Massachusetts

Posted in Underrated Albums by Noel on 18 November, 2008

2086849A lost gem in alt-country.

Joe Pernice would leave to form the unimaginatively named Pernice Brothers. And later, the oddly titled Chappaquiddick Skyline. But it’s with Scud Mountain Boys that he first found his ardent cult following; largely thanks to Massachusetts, its third album, which received such critical acclaim the label would later re-release the earlier two albums.

Special mention to “Grudge Fuck,” which occupied me for days as I strummed and sang the song over and over again–only to be able to reach the part of the bridge that goes, “I really missed the ship where you’re concerned.”

R.I.Y.L. American Music Club, Golden Smog, Tarnation

Scud Mountain Boys – Massachusetts

Leave a comment