R.I.Y.L. MUSIC

theaudience – I Got The Wherewithal EP

Posted in Underrated Albums by Noel on 31 October, 2008

Sometimes you buy an album because of its cover. First, the name of the band was intriguing: “the” and “audience” were deliberately spelt as one word. Also, the title had “wherewithal,” which instantly made it seem not of this time. Finally, the girl on the cover and the way she posed, forlorn and pensive; I would later learn that she is Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

This was back in 1998. Pre-Murder on the Dancefloor. Pre-Groovejet. Pre-famous.

The album wasn’t a dud. In fact, it was very good–so good that it contained songs that would remain superior to the band’s following full-length debut.

You could call the band “indie,” although they do sound markedly different from anyone then–and perhaps anyone since. A heady mix of musical theatre and Serge Gainsbourg wrapped in new wave guitar.

R.I.Y.L. Sophie Ellis-Bextor, Serge Gainsbourg, Rufus Wainwright

theaudience – I Got The Wherewithal EP

Note: If you have heard of theaudience, you might know of their biggest single, A Pessimist Is Never Disappointed. It exists here in its original version, Ne Jamais Decu, which is sung in French.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robin said, on 1 November, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Yeah I was quite surprised the debut album didn’t do well sales-wise at HMV. Pity coz I agree with ya, it was brilliant. Lost my copy though. If you don’t mind putting up that debut too it’d be lovely… 😉

  2. Daniel said, on 7 November, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Yes, I remembered this album! Sometimes she sounds like Chrissie Hynde; maybe its just me. You should check out Sub Sub (The Doves). They still sound fresh, and I just dug them out.


Leave a comment